Useless Buzzing Noises

Katemilty takes on the composition of digital media. This is your front row ticket to the struggle.

Welcome to English: The Humor Disconnect

Leave a comment

Welcome to English: The Humor Disconnect

A visual argument for the humor disconnect between ESL students and their American peers.

My process:

1. I thought about arguments to be made about the ESL experience at Pitt. Below is my list of brainstormed arguments:

– Students at Pitt don’t understand the struggles faced by ESL students
– Humor is one of the hardest things for an ESL student to pull off
– ESL students have trouble making friends outside of their language because many American students do take the time to accommodate their language style

2. Next, I considered my audience. In its current form, my audience are my blog readers (fellow classmates, the occasional friend). In its finished form, I would like my Welcome to English website to be viewed by an audience of ESL students and Pitt students alike.

3. To make an argument, visual or linguistic, I needed to establish supports for my claim.
Claim: Humor is one of the hardest things for an ESL student to pull off
Supports:
– Cultural disconnect and culturally varied sense of humor
– Lack of finesse with English language (example, reduced awareness of puns, word play, etc.)
– Inability to make subtle distinctions in intonation that signal joking and humor
– Hostile or confused recipients (the listeners do not understand or think the joking ESL student is serious)

4. How can this argument be conveyed visually?

I thought the best way to show this argument was by comparing the experience of an ESL student telling a joke to that of an American student.

Finally: Did my argument work? Did you understand my argument from the images presented? What do you think, dear reader?

Leave a comment